Large .apk file built for "Hello World" app

I am new to Corona and I am a subscriber. I have been watching the tutorial videos and just attempted to build my first Android app (a simple Hello World app) using the latest Corona SDK release (CoronaSDK-2011.591.msi). My code consists of one line that prints a "Hello World!" message to the terminal window. Everything built fine but I am shocked by the resultant APK file size. For my simple app, the APK is 4.181MB!!! This is enormous considering I haven't even written an application yet.

I decompiled the APK file to find out why the app was so large and this is what I discovered:

1) classes.dex --> 1.361MB
2) lib\armeabi-v7a\libcorona.so --> 1.358MB
3) "res" folder --> 423KB

These three files / folders alone cause any app to be at least 3.142MB (without any actual app code). These files make up 75% of the app size. Why are these files so large and why are other libraries / resources included in the APK file if they are not actually used by the app? Is there something I can do to prevent this from occurring? I had expected my app to be less than 100KB (which is only 2% of the actual size). Please help!!!

UPDATE: I also noticed that I have numerous OpenFeint, Papaya and SuperRewards assets and files in my APK file as well. I would definitely not expect these to be included in an app that is not using these services.

that used to be the case with OpenFeint and 8MB of added data, I guess it will take a while then the assests will be on a pure *if used* basis, however I let Ansca reply on that officially.

cheers,

?:)

hmm.-

should be that subscribers don't get any of the libraries you mention if they are *not* in a "require"

hmm.- could it be that you are building on a non-subscriber account?

.c

@Carlos - Thanks for the reply. I am signing in using my subscriber account and I have authorized my PC that I am requesting the build from. Is there some way that I can check whether or not I am building as a subscriber?